top of page

Wednesday Night Ponder

Hola,

Trying to fit more into my already too busy Wednesday night I was on my laptop researching travel destinations when I was distracted by a show on ABC. I am an easily distracted person!! The show was called 'you can't ask that' naive me thought it was a one off about suicide survivors but looking into it more each episode has a different ‘group’ of people who are asked questions which everyone wants to ask but no one dares to ask. I could begin to explain it but instead the link is below!

I was incredibly moved by the honesty of the stories and the compassion the people had for letting people understand what was going through their head and how blocked off from reality they may have become because of those thoughts. But also the repercussions from this attempt. I like most people have experienced the after effect of someone committing suicide from the loss and the pain of the family members to a shudder when you hear a train fly past thinking that someone jumped right into that.


I digress, one thing that stood out to me was the after effects. A common theme with the answers was how much support they had after, their family helping them get back to a place where they needed to be, simply asking ‘how is your head’. The support that they didn’t think they had.


I think this a reminder for all of us that everyone is going through something that we may not realise, but also something we could have seen if we opened our ears and opened our eyes. Instead of listening awaiting to tell a story of your own actually listen. Instead of seeing the same person walk past your desk every day see how


they are walking past your desk, is it not as bright as usual. So many things hide behind a smile… take a look at what they are.


Don’t face your problems alone. Help is there

Lifeline 13 11 14

bottom of page