top of page

WINTER IS COMING!

I sometimes get some breakfast for people I walk past regularly on the streets of Perth because every second Friday my father and I have a debrief breakfast so when I get a free breakfast I think it’s sometimes only fair to repay the favour to someone else.


I noticed though that sometimes the regulars I see are no longer regulars. I have this naive hope that everything that happens in this world is beautiful and when they disappear they have found a better place. But I’m sure that isn’t the case most of the time.


I found this fact sheet from the census on WA homelessness and realised how sheltered I really am from the truth behind homelessness. But also realised how bloody lucky I really am!



My purpose for this rant is for all those other lucky ones out there to give me a helping hand in my simpleminded goal to make this world a better place. If you’re like me you may have done a clean out at the end of the season. I went ahead and chucked out some jackets and coats that I keep because I love them but they don’t really fit and I definitely didn’t wear them last winter so I don’t think I really will this year!!!



As winter is coming and given the weird summer we had I am sure there will be some brisk days coming this year please make good use of your unneeded clothes. I have contacted St Bartholomew House to find out how they deal with their donations, they advised me that ‘they assess the appropriateness of the clothes to the age and gender of the accommodation and distribute accordingly’. To me this means they are given to people, old or young, who can’t afford to buy from Salvos or Vinnies (not that they aren't doing amazing things themselves) and will really need them.


Please check out http://stbarts.org.au/ or deliver any clothes shoes or anything you can to help those in need to their East Perth Office.


Catcha!!

The Regular Girl

bottom of page